Quotes Suitable for Framing: Ulysses S. Grant

 

 

Harris had been encamped in a creek bottom for the sake of being near water. The hills on either side of the creek extend to a considerable height, possibly more than a hundred feet. As we approached the brow of the hill from which it was expected we could see Harris’ camp, and possibly find his men ready formed to meet us, my heart kept getting higher and higher until it felt to me as though it was in my throat. I would have given anything then to have been back in Illinois, but I had not the moral courage to halt and consider what to do; I kept right on. When we reached a point from which the valley below was in full view I halted. The place where Harris had been encamped a few days before was still there and the marks of a recent encampment were plainly visible, but the troops were gone. My heart resumed its place. It occurred to me at once that Harris had been as much afraid of me as I had been of him. This was a view of the question I had never taken before; but it was one I never forgot afterwards.

Ulysses S. Grant, Personal Memoirs

Published in: on November 16, 2016 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://almostchosenpeople.wordpress.com/2016/11/16/quotes-suitable-for-framing-ulysses-s-grant/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

