Jerusalem

 

 

Something for the weekend.  Jerusalem sung the cadet glee club of West Point.  I hadn’t realized this hymn was of such recent vintage.  The lyrics come from that half-mad, half prophet British poet of the late Eighteenth and early Nineteenth centuries William Blake.  It was in the bloody year for Britain of 1916 that Sir Hubert Parry wrote the music to produce the hymn that helped sustain the British in many a dark hour in the last century.

And did those feet in ancient time,
Walk upon Englands mountains green:
And was the holy Lamb of God,
On Englands pleasant pastures seen!

And did the Countenance Divine,
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here,
Among these dark Satanic Mills?

Bring me my Bow of burning gold;
Bring me my Arrows of desire:
Bring me my Spear: O clouds unfold!
Bring me my Chariot of fire!

Published in: on June 4, 2016 at 5:30 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

4 Comments

  1. I am surprised that you should rate this particular song. http://fpb-de-fide.livejournal.com/1582.html

    • You make some excellent points Fabio although I still enjoy the song. Perhaps it is merely my fondness for Blake. At any rate I would be willing to run your article as a guest post both here and at The American Catholic if you wish. It might spark some interesting comments.

      • I think The American Catholic would be a suitable place. Yes, by all means.

      • Thank you Fabio. I will run it this Sunday on TAC.


Comments are closed.

