Book Meme

quote-when-i-get-a-little-money-i-buy-books-and-if-any-is-left-i-buy-food-and-clothes-desiderius-erasmus-58636

 

I assume that all readers of this blog are probably book lovers.  Here are my answers to a favorite book meme that has been floating around the internet for years:

 

1. One book that changed your life: A Canticle for Leibowitz. An extended meditation on History and the role of the Church in History disguised as a first rate science fiction novel.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once: Thucydides’ The Peloponnesian War.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island: Lord of the Flies.

4. One Book that Made You Laugh: Lest Darkness Fall by L. Sprague DeCamp. A hilarious time travel novel where the protagonist seeks to stop the conquest of Italy by Belisarius in the Sixth century.

5. One book that made you cry: The Bible when reading any of the Passion narratives.

6. One Book You Wish Had Been Written: Joshua, My Life and Times.

7. One Book You Wish Hadn’t Been Written: Das Kapital.

8. One Book You’ve Been Meaning to Read: The latest tomes in the Cambridge Ancient History series.

Published in: on April 4, 2016 at 5:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

2 Comments

  1. A Canticle for Leibowitz? How was this life changing for you?
    Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book and can picture JP2 as the pope putting the head piece back on the barbarian.

    • Dean, I read it as a freshman in college during my first semester at the University of Illinois 1n 1975. Its broad sweeping view of history had an enormous impact on me intellectually, and helped guide my studies both inside and outside of school. After that book, no part of the history of Man could be read by me in isolation from the rest of history. It inspired me to future reading including Saint Augustine’s City of God, Toynbee’s Outline of History and Spengler’s Decline of the West.


Comments are closed.

