Dark Lamps

A friend came to see me on one of the evenings of the last week — he thinks it was on Monday, August 3rd. We were standing at a window of my room in the Foreign Office. It was getting dusk, and the lamps were being lit in the space below on which we were looking. My friend recalls that I remarked on this with the words: “The lamps are going out all over Europe, we shall not see them lit again in our life-time.”

Sir Edward Grey, British Foreign Secretary in 1914

Published in: on July 31, 2014 at 5:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

2 Comments

  1. I’m sorry to post off topic, but I wasn’t sure you knew the story of Wasington’s celebrity chef. Thought I’d share this with you. Peace! Whimsy

    http://blackgirlsguidetoweightloss.com/did-you-know/hercules-a-look-at-americas-first-celebrity-chef/

    • Fascinating and ironic Whimsy, since Hercules would have obtained his freedom shortly afterwords, as would all of Washington’s slaves.


Comments are closed.

