The Ongoing American Revolution

To end the year at ACP, I could think of nothing more fitting than the introduction to the John Adams miniseries on HBO, a repeat for this blog.  Someday I will post a full review, but suffice it to say that it is the best dramatization of a historical period that I can recall seeing. 

The music and the revolutionary flags in the intro I have always found deeply moving.  I had an ancestor die at Bunker Hill fighting in the New Hampshire militia, and to me the American Revolution never has been simply a matter of facts and figures, all contained within the neat bookends of the years 1775-1783.  I approach the American Revolution as a devoted partisan of what the Founding Fathers sought to accomplish.  Those men set in motion powerful historical forces and, in many ways, the American Revolution is still an ongoing process, here and around the globe.  As we end the year 2009, and prepare for the triumphs and tragedies of 2010, it might be a good idea to take a moment and recall that much of what we are today was determined, and will continue to be determined, by the political and military battles waged so long ago.

Published in: on December 31, 2009 at 6:46 am  Comments Off  
Tags: ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers