They Will Shoot Me on Tuesday

I die but God does not die!

Blessed Anacleto González Flores before his martyrdom, April 1, 1927

Something for the Weekend. El Martes Me Fusilaran.  (They will shoot me on Tuesday.)    A  song performed  by Vicente Fernández Gomez celebrating the fight for the Church and religious liberty by the Cristeros in Mexico in the twenties of the last century.  This seemed appropriate on the day when my family and I will be seeing For Greater Glory.  Go here to read my post on the film and the historical background on the Cristero War.  Here are the lyrics of the song translated into English:

They will shoot me on Tuesday at six o’clock in the morning

For believing in the eternal God and in the great Guadalupana.

They found a holy card of Jesus in my hat;

That is why they sentenced me:because I am a Cristero.

That is why they will shoot me on Tuesday in the morning;

They will kill my useless body but never, never my soul.

I tell my executioners that I want them to crucify me;

And, once crucified,that then they use their rifles.

Farewell, highlands of Jalisco, Michoacan, and Guanajuato,

Where I fought the government which always fled running.

They caught me on my knees adoring Jesus Christ;

They knew that there was no defense in that sacred place.

I am a peasant by inheritance Jaliscan from birth;

I have no other god but Christ because He gave me my existence.

Killing me will never end belief in the eternal God;

Many remain in the strife and others are yet to be born.

That is why they will shoot me on Tuesday in the morning.

[Long live Christ the King!]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

