Civilization V is Here

 One of my hobbies, besides writing blog posts and annoying people for fun and profit, is the playing of rather elaborate strategy games.  I began playing these games circa 1971 when I wheedled a copy of Luftwaffe from my parents for Christmas that year.  The next year for Christmas I received a copy of Panzerblitz, and I have been playing and collecting strategy games since that time.

My wife and I acquired our first computer in 1987, a commodore 64.  Since that time almost all of my playing of strategy games has been on the computer.  Christmas Eve 1991 was a memorable one in the McClarey household.  It was the first Christmas Eve we spent with our newborn twin sons, and our copy of the computer strategy game Civilization arrived in the mail.

In between playing with our infants and introducing them to the joys of Christmas, we took turns charting the courses of society through 6,000 years of history.  For a young married couple fascinated by history, it was the ideal Christmas present.

We have followed the Civilization series through all its iterations.  Now, the latest game, Civilization V is here.  My wife and I are in agreement that this is certainly the most fascinating game in the series.  Our son at the University of Illinois agrees.  Our daughter (Heretic!) is fearful that we will start worshiping the game and lighting sacrifices to it.  Ah the parental pain of seeing one’s own acerbic humor unleashed upon oneself!

For those interested, go here to download a demo of the game and to download the manual.  However, this game can be addictive. 

You have been warned.

Published in: on September 27, 2010 at 5:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

2 Comments

  1. Oh, dear. Retrocedas, Satanas.

  2. Indeed Adam! You anticipate my post tomorrow!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

